Our Bio


A highly versatile chamber group, Xin Saxophone Quartet (XSQ) is one of Singapore’s leading professional saxophone quartets. Found in 2016, our name Xin Saxophone Quartet plays on the Chinese character for Heart and also the first character in Singapore’s Chinese name. It is our motto to represent Singapore by always performing with sincerity from the heart hence our name! An additional reason for the name is because we all love performing new music, commissioning Singaporean composers to write music for us – Xin also means new in Chinese. As advocates for new music, we have a resident composer for our quartet, Jay Ong, a young and upcoming composer and arranger in Singapore.

Xin Saxophone Quartet comprises of Singaporean musicians from different walks of life. Michellina Chan who graduated with Bachelor of Music with First Class Honours from the University of Melbourne, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, Alexis Seah who graduated with a Bachelor of Music with Honours from the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts in collaboration with Royal College of Music. Yi Xiang Ang is a regular with the SAF band and also a regular soloist with the Philharmonic Winds. Last but not least, Samuel Phua, a recent graduate of the Singapore School of the Arts, is the first local saxophonist to perform as a soloist with the prestigious Singapore Symphony Orchestra.

We debuted at the 6th Singapore Saxophone Symposium in 2016 as guest artists where we performed the 5th movement of David Maslanka’s Recitation Book, an extremely upbeat and exciting piece which was very well received by the public. We had our first sold-out recital in December 2016 entitled Back to Basics. At this recital we performed the World Premiere of Jay Ong’s Enclosures for Saxophone Quartet. In 2017, we were invited by The Philharmonic Winds to perform the groovy Astor Piazzolla’s Histoire du Tango arranged for saxophone quartet at their concert entitled A Music Tapestry. Shortly after, we were invited to perform at the Esplanade upper concourse as part of their Cool Classics series. Recently, we presented a program of works by Singaporean composers at the 18th World Saxophone Congress in Zagreb, Croatia. This was kindly supported by the Market and Audience Development Grant from the Singapore National Arts Council.

Commisioned works
Ong, Jay: Enclosures (2016)
Ong, Jay: Sea Scenes (2017)
Ong, Jay: Transit Sketches II (2018)
Yiau, Daniel: Sax-Drive! (2018)

Our Facebook Page

Our Youtube Channel